Dave Ramsey – My Hero

Item: Financial Peace
Found: Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace University
Price: Priceless!
Rating: Priceless (out of 10)

I know what you’re thinking: “Why is this creepy man wielding scissors on Miriam’s blog, and why can’t she afford him?” Well, today my blog is here to tell you about something YOU can’t afford NOT to know.

This man is Dave Ramsey. He is a financial GENIUS who has written best-selling books, written a complete curriculum on how to achieve financial peace, and hosts a nationally-syndicated radio show daily. He also cuts up a LOT of credit cards. I wouldn’t go straight to saying he’s my hero, but… okay I would. 🙂

The reason Dave Ramsey’s ideas have worked wonders in my husband’s and my lives, is because he doesn’t just give principals and expect you to figure it out on your own. He gives DETAILED ACTION steps to achieve financial peace. And get this, the steps work!

Part of Dave’s plan means that every spare cent of our income goes toward paying off debt. We each get $100 per month for personal purchases, buying gifts, etc. and everything else goes to becoming debt free. Sounds tough, huh!

That, my wonderful blog-readers (all five of you), is the reason I can’t afford any of these pretty things. But I don’t say that in a sad way! I’m telling you, no shopping spree in the WORLD can give the high I feel knowing that in 10 months, my husband and I will be 100% debt free. No trip to Nordy’s beats knowing that my children will have their college 100% paid for because I planned for it when I was 23 years old. No gorgeous heel (gulp…) feels better than the piece of mind that I’ll be able to retire at 50 with enough money to travel the world, spoil my grandkids rotten, and take the best care of my parents.

I have to tell you, I never imagined being temporarily poor would be so much fun. We ride bikes a lot. We go window shopping. We watch movies at the dollar theater. We go to farmers markets. We stay home and cook. We LOVE our lives.

Right before the “I can do all things” verse comes a really beautiful scripture from Paul. One I’ve become well-acquainted with: “I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.” Philippians 4:12

That’s what it’s all about, people. Yes, someday I’ll be wealthy, and it’s gonna beeee fun! BUT I will still look back on these years with fondness and the glimmer of a tear in my eye, thinking about all the bean and cheese burritos we ate, enduring the sticky floor at the cheap theater, and shopping at the Goodwill (something I’ll never stop doing!). GOD has given us the ability to be content. And no amount of money in the world will match that. The sooner you realize that, the sooner your heart will be overcome with joy.

If you are interested in Dave Ramsey’s ministry, I would be more than happy to give you more specific information. Just comment! This has been, “Things I have that you can’t afford NOT to know”. See you next time!

~ Mir

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 45,066 fanciful followers

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

