Butterfly in the sky, I can go twice as high…

Item: Dolce and Gabbana Trompe L’oeil Cotton-Jersey T-shirt
Found: http://www.net-a-porter.com/
Price: $165.00
Rating: 9 out of 10
Keywords in this Blog: Trompe-L’oeil, Reading Rainbow, Clinton Kelly, T-shirts, Over-dressed

“Butterfly in the sky, I can go twice as high, just take a look! It’s in a book! It’s Reading Rainbow!” I never would have guessed that one of my fondest childhood shows would end up contributing to my current day fashion knowledge, but it has! Thanks, Mom, for only letting us watch KCET.

Trompe-L’oeil – French for “trick the eye”, trompe-l’oeil is an art technique involving extremely realistic imagery in order to create the optical illusion that the depicted objects appear in three dimension. Courtesy of the ever-trusty Wikipedia.

I first learned of Trompe-L’oeil on Reading Rainbow as a small child. I remember being totally amazed at the idea that something painted could look so very real. I experienced a similar sense of wonder while scrolling through the endless array of solid black, white and gray shirts on net-a-porter. I mean, when did being chic mean you can no longer wear COLOR?!? Net-a-porter is known as the premier style website for up-and-coming designers, but I need to say that the lack of the spectrum of colors on there has saddened me. Talented and well-known designer Michael Kors keeps his life simple by wearing a daily “uniform” of a solid black shirt and dark jeans. How incredibly boring of him.

That’s why I am thankful that Dolce and Gabbana decided to have a little fun this time around! Trompe-L’oeil was such a fresh way to liven up these t-shirts. It’s kind of the old “tuxedo shirt” idea, only less…. lame. Still sassy though, in a tongue-in-cheek sort of way.

Clinton Kelly of What Not to Wear – a veritable fashion buddha – has quoted that his biggest fashion pet-peeve is the “casualization” of America. I wholeheartedly agree. I mean, come on people! Pajamas are for SLEEPING. If you need to go out in public, put on REAL clothing. You don’t need to wear a dress and pearls to the grocery store (though I find it to be tons of fun!), but give everyone the courtesy of seeing your most decent self. For a hilarious representation of the “casualization” of America, check out http://www.peopleofwalmart.com/. Be prepared to gasp and be generally disgusted.

Life is too short to wear a bunch of t-shirts – that’s what I always say. Well, actually that’s the first time I’ve ever said it. But I like it! I actually have managed to turn my dear husband into a broken record: “Mir, why are you wearing that *insert glamorous clothing item* to *insert very casual event or location*?!?” His practicality and my lack of it butt heads from time to time. 🙂 What can I say? I’ve spent my entire life being over-dressed… and I love it.

But there are two sides to every coin, my friends. One can’t spend one’s entire life in dresses and heels, I suppose. Sigh. That’s where incredibly chic t-shirts come into play. When you just need to throw something on, how lovely would it be to throw THIS on?!

I will say that I wore a t-shirt all day today. What a hypocrite I am, eh? A loosey-goosey striped job that fell nicely off the shoulder. Annnd cut-off shorts! And….. okay fine, black satin peep-toe wedges. What? Did you think I’d wear SANDALS with such a casual outfit?? I’m Miriam Bernard. Nice to meet you.

The bottom line is this: If you’re the t-shirt type, or if you don’t have time to spend hours choosing an outfit, or if you’re having a comfy-cozy type of day, or if you’re generally anti-t-shirt like me and need silk-screened pearls to offer a false security that you are more glamorous – find yourself a Clinton-approved (I’m sure of it), well-fitting, trompe-l’oeil t-shirt and go to the grocery store with your head held high!

This has been another faux-blog episode of Things I Want But Can’t Afford. See you next time!

~ Mir

P.S. If you have a child and you’d like to introduce him/her to this incredible art technique, here’s where you can buy the Reading Rainbow episode. 😉 http://www.learningstore.org/we1069.html

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah Winkle
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 19:08:36

    ironically as I was reading this I thought to myself, “self, when you get married your husband is going to ask you ‘why are you wearing *insert ridiculously casual clothing item* to *insert more than casual dress event*?’
    my answer? ‘because my tuxedo shirt is in the wash.’ ;)”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 45,066 fanciful followers

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

