DVF – You make me feel like a natural woman!

Item: Diane Von Furstenberg Paulita Ruffle Mini-Dress
Found: http://www.net-a-porter.com/
Price: 603 British Pounds (does anyone know how many US dollars that is?)
Rating: 10 out of 10

I first saw this dress on the cover of a magazine at the grocery store. I fell so in love with the dress that I have no idea who was wearing it or what the magazine was. Took me quite a while to even find it on the internet, and I have yet to find it with a price I can understand. I mean, how much is 603 pounds? That’s like, 60 bucks, right? Lol. Not if it’s Diane von Furstenberg.

One of the things I love about writing is how much I learn in the process. I’ve known for years that DVF makes incredibly feminine clothing and is credited with the creation of the “jersey wrap dress”, but never until I Googled her did I know that she is actually Jewish and her mother was a holocaust survivor! Nor did I know that she studied Economics in college. Did you know that she assumed the name “von Furstenberg” when she married the elder son of German Prince Egon of Furstenberg? A princess! But not for long – they were later divorced. Now she is the president of the CFDA – Council of Fashion Designers of America and runs one of the most popular fashion houses in New York. As for that famous jersey wrap dress – a sample is on display in the Costume Institute of the Metropolitan Museum of Art for its influence on women’s fashion. WHAT A WOMAN!!!

On top of all that – would you just look at the clothing she designs?!? This dress! It’s like a flowery peacock-hued craft design gone totally RIGHT. Doesn’t it somehow look like it’s made of paper? I love that attribute. It looks so delicate. Perfectly molded for the female figure, and ready for a sky-high pair of stiletto pumps.

I want. I want so much! Part of me feels like I’d be happy even if I could go try it on. Yeah…. that’s all I’d need. I’d wake up on a Saturday morning, go get a mani-pedi, get my hair done (it needs it SO badly), then I’d walk into…. well, wherever they sell this dress – and I’d try it on. After staring at myself in the mirror for 45 minutes, I would………. remove my heels, run full speed out of the dressing room, out the door, jump into the getaway car and burn rubber down the highway!!! And……. eventually end up as the best dressed girl in the women’s penitentiary!!!!

Man, I hope I dream about that tonight. Ciao!

~ Mir

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jennifer cambares
    Jun 25, 2012 @ 18:54:36

    i like it…………!!!!!!!

    Reply

  2. Planning A Trip To Israel
    May 31, 2013 @ 19:50:15

    My partner and I stumbled over here from a different website and thought I might check things out.

    I like what I see so now i am following
    you. Look forward to exploring your web page again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 45,066 fanciful followers

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

