The Foot Shoe – Wear Responsibly.

Item: Vibram Five Fingers Foot Shoe

Found: http://www.vibramfivefingers.com/indexNA.cfm

Cost: $70.00

Rating: 1 out of 10

Thank God for shoes! They both protect our feet AND shield our eyes from what I consider to be the body’s least attractive area. For those of you who do not know me, I have battled a major foot phobia for most of my life. I believe this is the very reason I am so into shoes. Heels, specifically. Any item that can take something so ugly, shroud it in leather, suede, or sparkles and wind up looking beautiful is FABULOUS in my book.  

Which brings me to…….. the foot shoe. The foot shoe is a child of necessity. Being someone who enjoys the outdoors greatly, I have watched many people doing mountain activities that would benefit from a shoe like this. Last week on a camping trip, I watched a group of people repel down a waterfall. Most of them were in regular tennis shoes – but I would guess they might have benefited from the use of their toes. In fact, I can think of MANY outdoor activities where people need covering to protect their feet, but still need to move around as if they are barefoot. All this being said – how COOL that the geniuses at Vibram invented the Five Finger Foot Shoe!

But this blog does not end there. Recently, I was waiting for a table at The Olde Spaghetti Factory in Monrovia, CA, when two men walked out of the restaurant, one of whom was WEARING THE FOOT SHOES!!! Ladies and gentlemen, do not, I repeat, DO NOT wear these shoes anywhere that regular shoes would suffice. They are utility shoes – meant to serve a specific purpose for outdoor sports. They do not belong in a Spaghetti Factory any more than a pair of ice skates.

The bottom line: the foot shoe is butt ugly and should only be worn under the limited circumstances that require them. If you are taking a stroll around town in your foot shoes and I see you, I may point and laugh in front of your face. Consider yourself warned.

This has been – Things I wouldn’t be caught dead in, unless I’m in the mountains scaling a large cliff.

Ciao!

~ Mir

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sissy poo
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 07:45:16

    yessss!!! i’m so glad that this was the first blog post on your very own blog!!! love it and love you!!! and love this blog!!! it’s so you sissy! amazing ❤

    Reply

  2. Jenicka
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 13:01:34

    That’s possibly the weirdest thing I’ve seen in my life.

    Reply

  3. Julie Tavis
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 14:24:13

    Yay for your blog! Booo for those weird shoes. I can’t believe someone would wear them out and I love how you compared it to wearing ice skates… perfect analogy!

    I’m looking forward to more of your most excellent writing!

    XOXO

    Reply

  4. Sarah W.
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 20:28:47

    I saw someone wearing these at work. Kid you not, I stared for at least 2 minutes straight until he walked away. Apparently he thought them appropriate for a theme park.

    Reply

  5. fancy daze
    May 12, 2012 @ 21:24:40

    id rather go barefoot at those prices jeeees

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 45,541 fanciful followers

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

