The Many Eras of Isabel Marant

Items: Basically all of Isabel Marant’s Fall 2010-2011 ready-to-wear line

Found: http://www.isabelmarant.tm.fr/collections-fw1011.php

Price: Definitely more than I have to spend

Rating: 9 out of 1o

It’s no news that the 1980s has already poked its neon, crimpy-haired head back into the 2010s. But I have to say, I’ve been less than thrilled about it on the whole. I’m okay with the idea of leggings, skinny jeans, and off-the-shoulder tops, but the insane colors and geometric patterns are enough to have me running to the nearest Anthropologie for shelter.

So as I have viewed the last few runway shows from french designer Isabel Marant, I got far too much of an “I’m bringing 80s back” vibe from them. But this year, I was pleased to see a departure from this, as Isabel went even MORE retro with a decidely hippie-ish Spring-Summer 2010 collection, and a Fall-Winter 2010-2011 collection that takes us back to one of my FAVORITE eras, the 1950s.

Don’t the above photos look like an incredibly fresh, updated version of Grease? Okay, maybe it’s just a subtle NOD to the 50s. The sequined leggings are 80s enough on their own I suppose, but regardless, I’m pretty much in love and would buy/wear each of these outfits all Winter if I could. The six above were my favorites from the 42 looks from her show. Which look is your favorite? My answer: Look #4 with the Grey swing coat and sequin pants. So effortlessly glamorous.

Welp, I’m gonna go dream that I’m in a convertible at the drive-in while wearing the above outfits. With a chocolate banana milkshake in my hand OF COURSE! Gee golly, doesn’t that sound swell?!

~ Mir

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 45,066 fanciful followers

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

