Cashmere sweatpants – A fabulous contradiction.

Item: Michael Kors Cashmere Sweatpants and Leg-warmers

Found: Michael Kors’ website

Cost: $995 and $395, respectively

Rating: HECK YES out of 10

13 hours. One pair of three inch heels. That’s all it took to break me. 13 hours and I have a newfound love for all things comfortable. I used to think that I could ignore the call of comfort forever. I used to tell myself that the feeling of wearing cute clothing would always be better than the feeling of wearing comfortable clothing. But after those 13 grueling hours on my feet my first day as a fourth grade teacher, something in me gave in. Something inside me said, “Miriam, it doesn’t matter how much you love heels. Being comfortable and practical wins.” I know that was the voice of reason.

But I’ve never been one to be reasonable! Comfort is boring. I’ve always prided myself on being a highly impractical person. But I guess chumming up to practicality is a sign of growing up. I went and got myself a big girl job, so now I have to put on my big girl shoes: Flats. I literally have not worn heels since that 13 hour day. Well, not to work, anyway. During non-work hours, all bets are off! Hence the 5.5 inch platform sandals I wore to dinner last night.

I spose I should get around to that Michael Kors ad up top. The woman in this ad – she is wearing a posh coat, cunning heels, fancy hair, and YES – those are cashmere sweat pants and legwarmers. Could this be the answer to Miriam’s new comfort meets impracticality personality??? I think definitely YES!!!! A few years ago I bought Eric a pair of cashmere sweat pants. They are incredibly soft. They are also swelteringly hot. But on a chilly day I think they’d be just the ticket! And when it’s warm? Well who cares?! Wear em anyway!

I know many of you read the beginning of this blog and thought, “FINALLY Miriam has given up on her silly heels-loving ways and joined the REAL world of comfort! HALLELUJAH!” So, let me ask you honestly. Does my ending this blog by saying I want to wear a long coat, tall shoes and a one-two punch combo of cashmere sweatpants AND legwarmers make you want to retract your prior declaration of my sanity?

It’s okay if it does. I almost prefer it.

Miriam Bernard. Impractically perfect in every way.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Theresa
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 20:58:03

    I LOVE the way you write! You are so witty and write just the way you speak. When I read your blog, I feel like we’re sitting at the tea house, sipping sweet peach tea and talking fashion. I have to admit, I get a little sad when I come to the end of each post. I SERIOUSLY think you need to write a novel. About what, I’m not sure, but this girl wants to read more and more. And a post is just not cutting it!

    Reply

  2. miriambernard
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 21:19:59

    WOW – you really know how to feed an ego, Theresa! Someday I’d love to write a novel. I don’t know what about either, but with how much I talk/think, I’m sure it’s up there somewhere. Maybe that’s somewhere down the road of life for me! But I’d need a community college grammar course first, I think. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 45,541 fanciful followers

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

