“Shoes are proof God loves us and wants us to be happy.”

 

This is my "What? Everyone puts their hands on their hips while sitting in a chair!" pose

 

 

This is my "I have to pee pee/What's that in the sky?" pose

 

The title of this blog is written on a sign that is hanging behind my desk in my classroom. I wholeheartedly believe this phrase because of the continued fortuitous events that have occurred to build my shoe collection.

One gorgeous summer day, I was leaving the pristine Orange Library, just after a relaxing lunch with my husband. I had just signed up for a library card, checked out a couple fashion mags, some classic movies, and some jazz cds. So basically, I was preparing for an afternoon of blissing out on excellent borrowed multimedia.

Which reminds me, the world needs to know that libraries are the most brilliant invention ever, and I could spend lit-er-al-ly all day and all night browsing the aisles for books on every subject from hiking to teaching and everything in between. When I’m done with the books I move on to the periodicals, then the audio books, then the CDs, then the movies. I always walk out with my arms embarrassingly full, and inevitably end up partaking of about half the items I rent. What? My eyes are bigger than my brain.

So I pull out of the library with a pile of books the size of a small child in the front seat (I probably should have buckled it up), and as I gaze at the charming craftsman houses lining the streets of Orange, I decide to turn down one, and enjoy the views whilst listening to my newly checked out Loudon Wainwright CD.

Then I saw it.

A big sidewalk sale in an empty parking lot.

Yeah, yeah. I hear you… “What is the big deal with a sidewalk sale, weirdo?!?” But if you really did ask that, you can’t possibly know me. Hi. I’m Miriam and sidewalk sales are better than Christmas. Obviously, this is not true, but you get my point.

I literally screeched into the parking lot, and got out. The first thing I saw was a gorgeous pair of black and red vintage heels that were not in my size and I pouted. However, the pouting swiftly stopped when I pulled a 100% silk Diane von Furstenburg dress IN my size off the rack and found out it was SIX DOLLARRRRRSSSSS. OMG. My dreams were coming true.

Then it was a new Express tank top in deep purple with lace. THEN it was a Guess denim romper that I completely died over. All the while this blonde girl was chatting away to a friend on the phone with a pair of gorgeous Bebe heels in a paper grocery bag full of clothes. I spied the heels and thought, “BLAST! She got here before me and nabbed that amazing pair of shoes!” As I blatantly eavesdropped on her conversation, I overheard her say, “I’m just so sad these Bebe heels don’t fit me….”

That was it. Today REALLY was the best day ever. With sadness, Miss blondie took the Bebe heels out of her bag and put them back on the table. They did not sit on that table more than one second before I picked them up and said to the girl, “What a bummer that these didn’t fit you! (Lie.) Would it be okay if I tried them on? (The answer is yes because they weren’t yours to begin with).” As I slipped them on, physical jealousy oozed from every pore in her body. Perfect. Fit.

Those shoes retail for $160, but I paid $4. CHA. CHING.

What feels even better is that I learned the sidewalk sale was to benefit Casa Theresa, a charity house based in Orange that takes care of pregnant mothers and gives them the resources they need to have a healthy pregnancy and baby. Yes, friends, I spent $20 on an Express tank-top, a Diane von Furstenbug dress, a Guess romper and Bebe heels and EVERY dollar went to charity.

It’s the little things in life.

Outfit:

Shirt – Victoria’s Secret (clearance) $4.00

Shorts – The Limited by way of Marshalls $12.00

Shoes – Bebe platforms Casa Theresa sidewalk sale – $4.00

Necklace – Abalone pendant bought from child in Italy – 1 euro

Ciao!

~ Mir

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mamo
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 07:47:47

    Mir, this is one of my personal top five faves of your blogs. I mean….I was “with you” every step of the way, oohing and ahhing and feelin’ it right there with you.
    Please make your millions via writing before I die, so I can say to my friends, “You know Miriam Bernard, who wrote that best wseller that’s been No. 1 for 22 weeks in a row??? She’s MY GRANDDAUGHTER!!!!”
    Mamo

    Reply

  2. Maris
    Oct 22, 2010 @ 18:55:03

    What kind of crazy place is California? Guess and Diane Von Furstenburg at a sidewalk sale? I’m lucky if I can find Old Navy and Gap clothes at the tag sales around here.

    I need to take a trip to CA.

    Reply

    • miriambernard
      Oct 24, 2010 @ 17:31:38

      I thought the same thing, Maris! That kind of stuff is so rare! If you ever want to come out to California, we should totally go shopping together. I also want to take Silas to the park and push him on the swings and feed ducks. He is SOOO adorable! ❤

      Reply

  3. Eva Sanchez
    Oct 22, 2010 @ 20:32:24

    Just wanted to let you know how very very much I enjoyed reading your blog on shoes are proof that God loves us. It gave me a good dose of laughter and joy to see how God uses the most simple things that happen in our daily lives and to really appreciate that He is concerned with all the little things we care about as well as the big ones! Thanks for sharing. Look forward to reading more of your blog. You may not remember me, but I am Jenicka (Sanchez) Emmert’s grandmother. Glad to see you are blessed and using your talents to enrich the lives of others. God Bless.

    Reply

    • miriambernard
      Oct 24, 2010 @ 17:29:44

      Thank you so much Eva! Of course I remember you. You and your husband were always at all of our school plays and productions cheering on Caleb and Jenicka (and all of us). I appreciate your encouragement then, and I appreciate it now, too! 🙂

      Reply

  4. sissy poo
    Oct 25, 2010 @ 15:10:39

    haha i love this blog sissy! it’s wonderful! 😀

    Reply

  5. Suchmaschine
    Oct 26, 2010 @ 23:03:18

    Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again – taking you feeds also, Thanks.
    Hello. Great job. I did not expect this on a Wednesday. This is a great story. Thanks!

    Reply

  6. white cocktail dresses
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 19:47:28

    After reading this I believed it was very informative. I value a person making the effort to put this web site piece together. I once again discover personally spending way to much time both reading through as well as commenting. No matter what, it had been still worth it

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 45,066 fanciful followers

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

