The true key to CHIC.

A touch of red lipstick. Shoes with a pop of color. A pair of pearl earrings. Nude fishnet stockings. That perfect hair accessory. I have often been convinced that chic lies in the details.

If only I could remember this principle on a day to day basis. In the busyness of life, I constantly find myself stumbling into the shower later than I should, leaving me barely enough time to blow out my bangs and throw my hair in a braid. I so often look down at my toes and realize I’ve forgotten to paint them… AGAIN, so I wear closed-toe shoes… AGAIN.

All too frequently I am backing out of my garage when I realize that in my rush out the door I passed directly by both my jewelry box and my perfume collection without so much as a second thought. It’s then that I look down to make sure I’m at least wearing pants. Thank God I usually am.

In a perfect world, I would always have plenty of time to choose out that perfect outfit, create the perfect smoky eye while doing my makeup, select that perfect necklace (and while I’m at it, untangle the complex web of chains at the bottom of my jewelry box), and create the perfect tousled curls that will last through any damp weather.

Now I can hear you – “Mir, you COULD create that perfect world if you just got up a couple hours earlier and took your time getting ready.” Well now. You make a mighty good point, you blog reader you. But you know what? It’s just not worth it to me! I would so much rather steal the extra sleep and run around every morning tossing shirts out of my closet because I can’t figure out what the heck to wear. That is what I prefer. Yes, I prefer to be imperfect and NORMAL, than perfectly put together and constantly fixated on how I look.

You see, I grew up learning from a very unpretentious and NOT snobby mother. Prissy is the last word I’d use to describe anyone in my family and I’m very proud of that. I will never be one of “those girls” who refuses to take a picture when her makeup is not just so, and sweats in front of the mirror for two hours curling her hair. Rather, I wait to pluck my eyebrows until they desperately need it, and my fingernails are almost never painted.

“Why are you telling us all this, Miriam?” you ask. And I will answer your question with another question. “How often do you notice someone’s lack of nail polish? Or that they’re not wearing a necklace? How often do you think, “Her lipstick has worn off.” or “Her legs aren’t tan enough.”?

I love and notice fashion, and I almost never notice these things. Usually because I’m thinking, “My lipstick has worn off.” and “My legs aren’t tan enough.”. Haha. But it’s true! Most people are so busy being self-conscious that they don’t notice the imperfections of others. And the people who DO notice, probably don’t care. And FURTHERMORE, the people who do notice and judge you for it, do not deserve your friendship. πŸ˜‰

The people who spend their time trying to be perfect from head-to-toe MISS the most important details of life. So to get noticed and be truly chic, try these tips instead:

1. Smile a lot.

2. Be kind.

3. Compliment frequently.

4. Take interest in others.

5. Be a friend.

If you place your focus in these things, you’ll realize that forgetting to put on jewelry or perfume in the morning is a minuscule and insignificant problem, and that true chicness lies in THESE details.

This is not at all the direction I thought this blog would go, but sometimes your heart leads you in a different direction than your mind. πŸ™‚

Love to you all! πŸ™‚

Outfit:

Blouse: Gift from my dear friend Amritha

Skirt: XOXO from Thrift store in Azusa $3.00

Nude Fishnet Stockings: Macy’s $13.00

Red mary-jane pumps: Ross $10.00

Jeweled Headband: Forever 21 $4.00

Pearl necklace: 21st birthday gift from my baby

Ciao!

~ Mir

 

 

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mamo
    Oct 27, 2010 @ 08:57:49

    How I love you, my genius writer granddaughter…my fashion-plate-but-doesn’t-freak-out-about-it granddaughter….my having-fun-doing-what-she’s-good-at-because-she’s-smart-enough-to-have-figured-that-out granddaughter.
    ❀ ❀ Your Mamo

    Reply

  2. Mamo
    Oct 27, 2010 @ 09:04:37

    LOVE this blog, my lovely granddaughter….my brought-up-a-thrift-shopper-and-loving-it-’cause-it’s-a-gift-from-God granddaughter….my the-whole-family-is-unpretentious-and-we’d rather-have-fun-than-look-fabuous granddaughter….my genius-writer-and-going-for-the-gusto-with-this-blog-’cause-she-loves-to-write-so-why-not? granddaughter. I love you! Your Mamo

    Reply

  3. Mr. Daigle
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 12:16:31

    Okay, so now I just voted for you and I would expect at least a weeks vacation in that apartment in Manhatten. And a small stipend from the clothing allowance for Mrs. Daigle.

    We love you Miriam, God Bless!

    Reply

  4. Gayle Revis
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 20:12:29

    U are a most impressive young women.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 45,541 fanciful followers

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

