The joy that is Mondo.

Items: Mondo Guerra’s entire Project Runway Finale Collection (minus the polka dot dress everyone raved about…)

Found: The Fashion Cult

Price: Not for sale 😦

Rating: 10 out of 10

SPOILER ALERT: I love Project Runway!!!!

I know that blatantly obvious statement doesn’t really “spoil” anything per say, but I’ve always thought it would be fun to begin a blog with a Spoiler Alert. My family can testify that I hate spoilers, written and oral, (and the ones on cars). I have thrown legitimate fits over being told the outcome of television shows and movies. But I figure a spoiler that says that I love Project Runway may as well  say I love Oxygen. So I’m safe.

But seriously, is Project Runway not one of the most brilliant shows to ever come out of the current JOKE that is reality television? Heidi Klum, Michael Kors, Nina Garcia – it’s all the formula for perfection. UGH – and how could I forget America’s darling – Tim Gunn!!! I just want to take the man to lunch at Pastis and giggle all afternoon. He is such a dear.

This season was particularly special to me for one little Mexican reason:

Mondo Guerra. Yes. Take a moment. You can laugh alllllll you want. I already  know that he looks like a hispanic Pinocchio at a funeral. But ya know what? The man is a design virtuoso.

His collection, as previewed at the top of this post, was so fresh and so joyful – I could hardly keep from grinning through his entire show. Mondo has a way of mixing prints that is so effortless. As anyone knows, mixing prints in fashion is nearly as dangerous as mixing chemicals in Science. One wrong move and POOF! everyone’s eyebrows are blown off. Indeed, it takes a special eye and an innate inspiration to do what Mondo does. Lord knows I’d never try mixing patterns, because we’d all end up looking like the Mona Lisa (She has no eyebrows.  Check it out.).

But in addition to the clever prints throughout his collection, I also adored Mondo’s mostly monochromatic palette, which provided the backdrop for occasional bursts of bubblegum colors. My favorite piece was the little 60s mini dress with a blue top and a houndstooth-ish skirt. He may as well have stolen that dress off of Twiggy’s ACTUAL body and put it on a model. It is Mod-heaven.

Then top all these darling pieces off with tight little pointy buns on the girls’ heads, and colorful flowery headbands and headpieces. The cuteness is unmanageable!!!!

This makes me want to go to cheap stores in the mall and create my own “Mondo Creation” with mixed prints, Easter accessories and a giant flower on my head. I feel a runway project coming on! Get it? Runway project? Project runway???? Runway project???

Kayyyy, yeah. I’m gonna go.

Ciao!

~ Mir

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura Clauson
    Nov 07, 2010 @ 10:32:03

    loved reading your post here Miriam. You are a gem!!

    Reply

  2. kIm
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 08:35:53

    I love Mondo too!

    Reply

  3. david
    Dec 01, 2010 @ 11:04:07

    makes me want to drink alchoholic beverages

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 45,243 fanciful followers

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

