This coat needs to join my “collection”.

Item: Banana Republic Tall Classic Trench

Price: $198.00

Rating: Jacket of a lifetime out of 10

If you are the lucky owner of a really nice coat, you obviously know that even in a warm climate like California, a good coat is the ultimate outfit-finisher. My preoccupation with coats began around this time of year in 2008, when my husband bought me a truly spectacular, creamy-white double-breasted wool beauty by Guess. I have to be honest, at the moment I received this gift, despite my apparent excitement, I thought to myself, “I mostly likely will wear this the one or two truly cold days of the year, and the rest of the time it will hang lonely in my closet.”

I don’t think I’ve ever been more wrong (except maybe for the time I told my husband that drinking wine that’s been open for a week does not make one sick). Seriously though, the moment summer ends (which is the first day of school – for those of you whose yearly calendars do not perpetually run from September to August) I pull my Guess coat to the front of my closet, and cross my fingers for the first chilly day so I can feel fabulous all over again.  Note: A “chilly” day in Orange county is any day the temperature drops below 72 degrees. This usually occurs mid-November. I may or may not have the coat dry-cleaned regularly so it always looks pristine (Almost never.)

Here’s a picture of me attempting and failing to stylishly model my coat right after I received it in 2008.

It was 71 degrees at this point. Just kidding. Probably 61.

 

Then there is the faux-leather jacket. Or should I say THE faux-leather jacket. Of my life. Forever. It belonged to a middle school student at the school where I teach. Which student? I don’t know. I asked and  asked. Truly, I tried to get this jacket back to its owner, but no one would claim it. One day I got sick of it being in my classroom. Before sending it to the lost and found I tried it on, naturally. Then I decided this jacket would not be going to the lost and found, because it had just “found” its new owner. Thank you, nameless Heritage Oak student. To you I am forever indebted.

No matter what I am wearing, it looks instantly cooler with this jacket over it.

Two examples – me in front of the Hitching Post restaurant in Solvang, CA, made famous by the BEST MOVIE EVER MADE – Sideways.  Seriously, I can quote that movie from start to finish. It is el mejor. And then my sister and I at the LA Zoo in front of the giraffe habitat. She’s not obsessed or anything.:

As you can see, I have quite the collection of chic outerwear going here. What? You don’t think two counts as a collection?!? Fine, neither do I. Which is EXACTLY why I so badly need this beyond classic Banana Republic trench coat to make my collection an actual collection. Or the humble beginnings of one.

I tried on this coat a few weeks ago at the BR store at The Shoppes in Chino Hills. Doing so made it SO evident that sometimes (and only sometimes), a better brand (and inevitably higher price) equals better construction and fit. Believe me – I’ve been on the hunt for the perfect trench for a while now and the $39.99 ones at Target just don’t fit like the glove that the BR ones do.

OR – was it all in my head? Did it only SEEM to fit better because I was surrounded by fine clothing, good-looking people and the scent of gardenia-infused perfume? As opposed to target, where I’d most likely be surrounded by a mom with a giant cart that has four children inside it, and clothing all over the floor, and the scent of popcorn and Icees.

No, no…. I’m pretty convinced the BR trench fit infinitely better. I think. No, I’m sure. Mostly.

~ Mir

P.S. Take a joyous ride into Miriam’s sad mental capacity: I spent a copious amount of time scrolling through my external hard drive to find a decent photo of me in my Guess coat, and only when I clicked “publish” on this post did I remember that my WordPress avatar IS a professional photo of me in this coat. Which reminded me that everyone has already seen it, and this blog is basically worthless. Oh what FUN it is to be me!

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sissy poo
    Nov 27, 2010 @ 00:29:31

    i am too, obsessed! lol =P

    ps i didn’t remember, while i was reading this blog, that your picture for this blog is of you wearing that coat until you pointed it out. i loved this blog. so you have nothing to worry about 😉

    love you sissy poo! ❤

    Reply

  2. shore tours in St.Petersburg
    Nov 30, 2010 @ 22:32:00

    Mate. This blog is amazing. How can I make it look this good ?

    Reply

  3. LiaimiMoRjoro
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 20:26:55

    Sweet site, I hadn’t noticed mirreflections.wordpress.com before in my searches!
    Keep up the great work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 45,066 fanciful followers

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

