Which of these should be my next pair of heels?

Ladies, gentlemen, citizens and loyal blog-readers – prepare to be shocked and disappointed. Sitting in my wallet, since December 24th, 2010, is a  pristine, un-used $50.00 gift card to DSW. Yes. You heard correctly.

For the less shoe-inclined members of society, DSW stands for Designer Shoe Warehouse. Imagine a grocery store, but instead of cans and gallons of milk, there are boxes upon boxes of SHOES!!!!  And they say Disneyland is the happiest place on Earth. Psshh. I think DSW used it be called Discount Shoe Warehouse, but they recently changed the name to sound more snazzy. I kinda want to tell them, “Hey guys – you’re still a warehouse. Just like Costco, Wal-mart and Home Depot. If you wanted to be all fancy-shmancy maybe you shouldn’t have put warehouse in your name.”

But enough of that tangent.

The point is, one would think that if Miriam is given a DSW giftcard on December 24th, that she’d be waiting outside at 6am on December 26th to break down the doors and find some new gems. Yet, here we sit at February 25th and it has yet to leave my wallet.

See, here’s the thing. When I’m scheming and dreaming about shoes, every cute pair I see, I think “Oooh I’d buy that!” But… I say that because I’m broke all the time. (Note: When I use the term “broke”, I mean that my husband and I intentionally limit our discretionary dollars so that someday we’ll travel the world, wear nice clothes and give give give. Ya know…. “broke”.) It is easy to want every pair of shoes you see when you are not given the grave decision of ACTUALLY selecting a pair to join your collection. But when making a true purchase – you want to be sure you’re not just in dream land, but that you’re choosing the BEST pair.

Added to these items is the fact that, by nature, I am extraordinarily indecisive. This makes coming down to a final decision virtually impossible. THAT is where you come in. Please take a look at the below specimens from DSW and tell me which you like the most. And by “which you like the most” I obviously mean “which you think will look cutest on me” – since I will be the one wearing them. 🙂

Audrey Brooke Mary Janes in "Reptile"


Specimen #1 – My eyes tractor-beamed onto this pump because 1. I adore mary-janes 2. I adore subtle reptile or animal print 3. Depending on the level of comfort, I may be able to wear these to work. Practicality BONUS POINTS!

Miss Me Snakeskin Pumps

Specimen #2: These sexpot stilettos are crazy tall, with a platform and studs. I think that every time I wear them, it would be a requirement to have smoky eyes, big hair, and fist pump frequently. Down-side: Limited places to appropriately wear them (Let’s face it, 99% of my life is spent in a conservative private school, at home, or at church. That would be a… no, no ANNND no.)

Michael Antonio Stappy Sandals in Nude and Snakeskin

Specimen #3: I think it’s a good sign that every time I look at these gorgeous shoes I get a little shiver. They look to me like they should cost like $700, but they’re actually $49.95. Not wearable at work, but I could probably pull these off at other various events – church, weddings, functions etc.

Jones New York Leopard Pumps

Specimen #4: For a very long time now, I have felt my shoe collection needs some leopard love. While some might say they’re loud (myself included), I can make these beauties would go with many many outfits. I actually start panting at the thought of these with ankle length cigarette jeans and a little tank top. SO Audrey Hepburn meets Peggy Bundy of Married with Children. ❤

Steve Madden "Henaa" Peep-toe Pump

Specimen #5: NOM NOM NOM Grey…… suede……. nom nom….. peep toe…… crazy tall pumps….. Steve Madden….. NOM NOM NOM.

Martinez Valero "Zoie" Pump

Specimen #6: Although these satin stilettos would be worn to probably one event per year – WHAT AN EVENT IT WOULD BE! These beauties are inspired by the Manolo Blahniks featured in Sex and the City. They would be a featured exhibit in the Miriam Bernard museum of shoes.

MIA Greta Wedge Pump in Black Suede

Specimen #7: These are the ultimate “wear everywhere” heels. They’d be great with office apparel at work, but they’d practically feel like Nike Airs under a pair of jeans. So fresh and so clean clean.

Steve Madden "Missy" Tie-front Pump in Pewter

Specimen #8: Last but not least, these Steve Maddens are gloriously high and stylish, and, despite their modern heel-height, they somehow have a nostalgic or vintage feel to them. An attribute always appealing to the “born in the wrong era” Miriam Bernard.

So what will it be, ladies and gents? Cast a vote and stir me out of my indecisiveness.

Ciao!
~ Mir

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Theresa
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 07:22:14

    OOOoooooOOOOO! I LOVE them all, but especially like the Michael Antonio strappy heels! You could wear them all summer with anything and look so SEXY!!!

    Reply

  2. Christa
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 08:23:47

    My vote would be to buy the shoe you probably wouldnt but for yourself because you wouldnt wear it enough, etc. That is the fun of a gift, someone else purchased it for you to be something you love and wouldnt buy. I hope this helps not hinders your decision.

    Reply

  3. Lucy McConville
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 08:37:47

    I vote for the Steve Madden henna peep toe. I actually wanted to vote for the other platform pair, because those platforms are SO now and SO (ok, I’ll say it) sexy. But I want you to be able to actually wear your new shoes more than once. My next favorite are the leopard print pair. If they had the platform, they would win.

    As a side note, I want to tell you that I’ve had a $50 gift card to Anthropologie, my favorite store to browse, since Dec. of 2009! I have yet to spend it, although I have been into the store to ‘shop’ several times. I think it is because once I spend it I won’t have it to dream about anymore…and I almost think there is more value in that than there would be in whatever I could get for fifty bucks at Anthropologie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 45,066 fanciful followers

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

