A Long Time Ago, In a Galaxy Far Far Away…

 

Items: Christopher Kane’s Entire Spring Resort 2011 Collection

Found: Polyvore.com

Cost: Many thousands of dollars

Rating: STELLAR out of 10

Have you ever seen a photo of a galaxy or a nebula out in space and found your jaw gaping open at the sight of the vibrant colors and incredible patterns? Have you ever just relished the thought that those beautiful patterns exist far out in space, beyond what any human has seen with his or her own eyes? Have you ever rolled your hair into little cinnamon roll buns on the side of your head, fashioned a white sheet into a dress and pretended to blast the heck out of a hundred evil storm troopers?

No? Fine then.

My name is Miriam Bernard, and I am a science nerd.

I recall going to my Dad’s work as a little girl, and he – always an astronomy buff – would sit me on his lap and pull up photos taken by the Hubble telescope, and he’d start in on the proverbial lecture about the suchandso nebula in whatchyamacallit galaxy and every word of it floated in one ear and out the other while I just stared in wonder at the amazing pictures. I’d look at black holes and wonder if I ever went to space if I’d get sucked into one.  I looked at the clouds of gas and think about how they looked like spun cotton candy – or fairies – or some other magical or delicious object.

The Fairy-rific Cotton Candy-tastic Orion Nebula

I think what draws people to thoughts about space is its inherent mystery. The George Lucases and Steven Spielbergs of the world noticed the mystery space holds, then they turned that mystery into millions and millions of dolla… I mean, some really excellent and adventurous stories.  As a result, we have our E.T., our Trekkies, and generation after generation of little boys (and okay, girls) who watch a movie called Star Wars and believe that maybe, waaaaay out there past Pluto, there really is a planet called Tattooine. And yes, we consciously choose to ignore the logic that says any planet with “Tattoo” in the name couldn’t possibly be real.

A modern day space innovator (kind of like Lady Gaga, who I think may actually be an alien) is Scottish fashion designer Christopher Kane, whose sharp eye impressed the likes of Donatella Versace and won him Scotland’s Young Designer of the Year award in 2006 at the spritely young age of 24. That’s the same age as me. Miriam Life Fail.

Chris Kane’s 2011 Spring Resort Collection models turned the corner of the catwalk wearing patterns inspired by deep space nine and galaxies beyond and all that cliche rot.  After all, why sit in an office designing patterns when you can just look out through the lens of a telescope and draw such intergalactic planetary inspiration? What resulted were incredible, fiery textiles that I, for one, CANNOT get enough of.

It’s one small step for fashion, one giant leap for alternatives to a full body Star Trek suit.

I mean, can you even IMAGINE if a female specimen walked into a Star Trek Convention wearing this little number?

Every pointy-eared gentleman in the entire room would, no doubt, do one uh these:

There is a certain allure to the idea of geek chic that makes me giggle and snort a little bit. I may wear bows in my hair with flowy skirts and pink from head to toe, but these spacy Kane pieces are enough to make me wanna buy some spectacles, put on a nebula dress and strut into an Apple store. Or an internet café. Or a World of Warcraft party. Or wherever it is the geeks assemble these days.

This is what I wish I looked like.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m gonna go boogie at the Mos Eisley Cantina.

Live long and prosper,

Mir

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sissy poo
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 11:11:01

    LOVE this!!! i wan’t that skirt! …and the button up sweater

    Reply

  2. sissy poo
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 11:12:13

    *want …wow lol

    Reply

  3. miriambernard
    Mar 19, 2011 @ 10:49:44

    I thought about you when I posted that skirt, Sissy! I knew you’d love it! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Maysa
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 12:38:59

    LOVE it! I want the first dress!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 45,541 fanciful followers

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

