I’ll Shout it from the Rooftops

Miriam Bernard – the next Billy Graham. I’ve never quite felt that level of calling on my life, to be honest. But I can say with certainty that since I was a young teenager, full of faith and open to God’s leading, I have felt a very clear calling from God that my life on this earth was meant to be something special. Not that I would be the next great evangelist, necessarily, but that if I went forth with boldness I could make my own little mark on this world. There were so many teary nights at the altar in my youth group, when I would say “Yes, Lord.” in response to this clear calling.

Yet here I am at age 25, while I may be married, own a home and teach at a private school, an uncomfortable nagging has been at the back of my heart – “Where is your mark?” it asks. “So many times you said ‘Yes’, yet you got up off your knees and continued in trivial pursuits of this world.”

And this morning at church as the worship band sang, “Greater things are yet to come, greater things are still to be done in this city…” the same tugging returned. God got my attention in a big way. “These ‘greater things’ start with you, Miriam. Don’t consider yourself exempt. You may be a decade older than when I first called you at the age of 15 at the altar, but it isn’t too late. Love others. Love recklessly. Go out of your way to care and show ME to those in your everyday path. Bring up my name. Be bold. For the first time in your life, be bold.”

Matthew 21:28-32

“But what do you think? A man had two sons, and he came to the first, and said, ‘Son, go work today in my vineyard.’ He answered, ‘I will not,’ but afterward he changed his mind, and went. He came to the second, and said the same thing. He answered, ‘I go, sir,’ but he didn’t go. Which of the two did the will of his father?”

They said to him, “The first.”

For too long I have been the son who has said “I go, sir.” Yet I have not gone.

No longer.

I will shout His name from the rooftops, and when I die and get to Heaven, this is what I will hear:

Thank you for giving to the Lord,
I am a life that was changed.
Thank you for giving to the Lord,
I am so glad you gave.
One by one they came, far as your eyes could see.
Each life somehow touched by your generosity.
Little things that you had done, sacrifices made,
They were unnoticed on this earth
In Heaven now proclaimed.

Time to stop wasting time and take God’s call on my life seriously. It starts TODAY!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julia Tavis
    Oct 09, 2011 @ 15:22:35

    “I have no greater joy than to hear that my children walk in truth.” III John 1:4

    Reply

  2. jasmineshafik
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 15:42:22

    Yes MIR!! I love that you are shouting and proclaiming the truth. I too was recently thinking…how will I leave my mark? Thank your for posting this 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 45,243 fanciful followers

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

