Child-like Faith

When I was a little girl, about the age of five, my mom entered me in a sweepstakes through K-CAL 9 for a family pack of tickets to Disney on Ice. I was very excited about the idea of going to see Mickey and Minnie gracefully skating across the rink. After my mom had sent in our entry, I would ask daily, “Mommy, when are my special tickets coming? My tickets to see Mickey on the ice? When are they coming?” Over and over, my mom tried to gently explain the concept of a “sweepstakes” and how my chances of winning were one in many many thousand. For some reason, I didn’t understand. I just kept asking. My excitement for my special tickets grew and grew, and all the while, my mom prepared for the day that the contest would end, and she would have to tell me once and for all, “The tickets will never come.”

One day, while looking through the mail, an envelope caught my mother’s eye. The return address read “K-CAL 9” and she curiously opened the envelope. Inside was a letter of congratulations and four tickets to Disney on Ice. I had won the sweepstakes. In disbelief, my mom came to tell me the exciting news: that my tickets had arrived. Our household was full of joy that afternoon. My parents rejoiced out of shock, and I excitedly held the tickets that had FINALLY arrived after my weeks of waiting!

You’ve got to love a story with a happy ending, right? My mind drifted back to this event this morning while sitting in the pew at my home church, Eastside Christian in Fullerton, CA. Our worship leader, Joel, read a passage from the little known book of Habakkuk. It states:

Habakkuk 3:17-19

Though the cherry trees don’t blossom
and the strawberries don’t ripen,
Though the apples are worm-eaten
and the wheat fields stunted,
Though the sheep pens are sheepless
and the cattle barns empty,
I’m singing joyful praise to God.
I’m turning cartwheels of joy to my Savior God.
Counting on God’s Rule to prevail,
I take heart and gain strength.
I run like a deer.
I feel like I’m king of the mountain!

What caught my ear in this passage is the phrase, “Counting on God’s Rule to prevail”. The person who wrote this passage, in the midst of a time of famine and misfortune, is turning cartwheels in joy, because he has something to count on: God’s Rule always prevails.

The average adult would say that my excitement to see Disney on Ice before I knew I had won the tickets was premature and uncalled for. I didn’t understand the concept of a sweepstakes; therefore I celebrated my win before the win had even actually occurred. From one perspective it sounds foolish, indeed. However, is this not the very definition of “child-like faith” God describes to us His Word? A child, having little understanding of the big picture, is able to have joy and count on the good that is arriving, and it is BECAUSE of that faith, that God’s Rule prevails.

It is my goal for my own life, and for the life of my friends, to look at difficult times as they come, and turn CARTWHEELS OF JOY, because they are rejoicing for the good things they know God is going to do in the future.

Today is a day to ignore the practical, the likely, and even the expected, and take on a child-like faith. Ask God, “When are my tickets coming?” CHOOSE to believe that someday you’re going to open the mail and see that envelope, and rejoice in honor of that day. For that is true child-like faith.

Written in honor of my dear friend, Theresa. I love you, friend!

Ciao!

~ Mir

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Theresa
    Mar 18, 2012 @ 20:12:06

    This brought tears to my eyes! Thank you so much! I really needed to read this today! I so desperately want to turn cartwheels of joy, knowing that I will someday become a mother. I pray that the Lord would strengthen my faith to that of a child. Love you Mir!!! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Lorraine Uribe
    Oct 01, 2016 @ 16:32:55

    I just re-read this wonderful blog, Miriam, and thought I would add a little side note to it that you may have forgotten. Either you received FIVE tickets or your parents felt that your sister, Marjorie, was too young to attend, because your mom told you that you could invite “anyone you wanted…any friend at all…” to go and use the spare ticket. Your mother said that right away you said, “I want Mamo to come, too!” Can you imagine how loved I felt that you chose ME to go with you? It’s just one of many sweet, sweet memories I have of your childhood, Miriam, my little Buttercup!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 45,066 fanciful followers

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

