This Year

Image

Nothing puts me in the mood to write like the start of a new school year does. There’s a freshness in the air. A new beginning. A chance to start over. It’s something about the blend of emotions – excitement, anxiety, and thoughts swirling around – that really push me to just get it all out onto a piece of paper.

I’m beyond grateful to have a job that I care so intensely about and that provides me with such a deep sense of satisfaction and meaning. I want more than anything to excel at it. I won’t stop UNTIL I excel at it. So this year, as I have for the two prior, I wrote a Mission Statement of sorts. A plan to be better. Something I can read aloud every morning and receive a new sense of determination to meet my goals.

Here is my mantra for the 2012-2013 school year:

I will set my expectations higher than ever before.

I will give compliments freely, but be sure that they are meaningful and specific.

I will ask “Why?” more often to foster critical thinking.

I will pray for my students by name often.

I will keep my eyes on the details.

I will correct lovingly – as often as it takes.

I will accept no less than each student’s best.

I will remember that what I do always speaks louder than what I say.

I will look my students in the eye, and REALLY listen.

I will remember that sometimes the love and attention I am offering a child could be the only affection he or she will receive that day.

I will use God’s Word to guide me when mediating student disagreements.

I will learn to respond, rather than react.

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, 24 since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.” Colossians 3:23-24

Ciao!

~ Mir

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lorraine Uribe
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 21:22:24

    Beautiful, my little Buttercup. Just beautiful.

    xoxoxoxoxo Mamo

    ________________________________

    Reply

  2. Julia Tavis
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 22:49:13

    Can I be in the 4th grade again? I was thinking that I would like a few more opportunities to come to your class this year. I hope we can make that happen. I love seeing you in action…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 45,243 fanciful followers

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

